Asia, Hanoi, Thailand, travel, Uncategorized
Comments 7

Going home

I caught the sunset from Tokyo, Japan over the wing on AirCanada’s 767. There is nothing like being back home and in your own bed after 9 flights and 5 countries. I had many amazing memories from two weeks of travelling. But I then had an 18 hour journey home from Hanoi, Vietnam through Tokyo, Japan to Toronto, Canada.

Cankles are not a good look so I put my very cool pink compression socks… and prepared to catch up on movies.

CMP-3917-2

 

If you like these purchase on www.bondiband.com. Be trendy when you compress your ankles and calfs!

I also definitely ate my way home. In Hanoi, I had my last freshly pressed watermelon smoothie to fresh sushi in Japan.

watermelon

FullSizeRender

A side note: The Toyko airport washroom was also an experience. The Japanese brought the public WC to a high-tech experience. I will admit I tried every option and button from spray to dry… The Japanese brought the public washroom experience to a whole new level! Expect to wait longer in line…

panel

washroom

I caught the sunset from Tokyo, Japan over the wing on AirCanada’s 767.
Travelling backwards in time, I then caught the sunset again closer to North American over the ocean. Very cool.

sunset1

sunset2

Then to sub-par Air Canada food. I sooo missed Bangkok Airways with their amazing food and service! I then had a welcome party to take me to out for dinner to Indian food, Bombay Grill home of the best butter chicken in the suburbs of Burlington, Canada.

After an exotic trip half way around the world from San Fran to impoverished Siem Reap in Cambodia, I was ready for my own bed. I was now home and ready to pass out from jetlag and raise my legs (cankles did happen despite the compression socks – ugh!!)

I reflected on my trip.

I love travelling. But I also love coming home. To loved ones, my home and to  Canada. Where human rights, freedoms, grocery stores plentiful with food …. and clean drinking water are taken for granted. And to remember we should not – and to champion for those who do not have these liberties.

 

7 Comments

  1. I am sure it was a trip of a lifetime and you have the legs to rock those compression socks. I would of been standing in that toilet for an hour to figure out how to flush (LOL)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Paul Farrugia says

    Its good to have you back home with all those amazing stories and pictures! Thanx for sharing with us.

    Like

Leave a comment